The Scientific Career System shall apply to scientific personnel in the government service with at least master’s degree and/or doctorate degree and non-faculty full-time researchers from the State Universities and Colleges (SUCS).
The SCS covers the following disciplines:
•    Natural Sciences
•    Agricultural Sciences
•    Engineering and Technology
•    Medical Sciences
•    Selected fields of Social Sciences as may be determined by the Scientific Career Council and listed in Annex A of the Merit System for the Scientific Career System.
There are five ranks in the Scientific Career System with their corresponding salary grades:
•    Scientist I – SG 26
•    Scientist II – SG 27
•    Scientist III – SG 28
•    Scientist IV – SG 29
•    Scientist V – SG 30