The Scientific Career System (SCS) conducted the Oath-taking Ceremonies of the New and Upgraded Scientists which was held at Eastwood Richmonde Hotel on December 10, 2018. Seven scientists were given honor during the event. Five of which are newly conferred and two of them are upgraded.

Underscretary for Science and Technology, Dr. Carol M Yorobe, on behalf of DOST Secretary Fortunato De la Pena, commended the newly conferred scientists for their hard work and undying commitment to gaining tangible results through their research for the benefit of the society at large and thus worthy of being recognized for their outstanding achievements. She emphasized the need for more scientists in the Scientific Career System (SCS) and expressed the DOST Secretary’s hope that the newly conferred scientists will encourage more researchers to pursue the same path as they did.

Hon. Alicia dela Rosa-Bala delivered a short but inspirational message and thanked the new scientists for their continued efforts and contributions along with the newly upgraded scientists. She proceeded by sharing her thoughts on how our present day scientists can be part of a borderless society where changes in world economy is constant and people are highly mobile. She then advocated her ideals of developing a culture of innovation and that implementation of new discoveries should not be confined within one agency but its replication and adaptation should be felt nationwide.

Academician Fabian Dayrit introduced Dr. Lucille V. Abad from the natural science discipline while Academician Eufemio Rasco jr introduced six of the scientists under the agricultural science discipline, Ms. Jayvee A. Cruz (DA-PhilRice), Mr. Dindo King M. Donayre (DA-PhilRice), Dr. Ofero A. Capariño (DA-PhilMech), Dr. Renita SM. Dela Cruz (DA-PhilMech) and Dr. Michael A. Gragasin (DA-PhilMech) and Dr. Claro N. Mingala (DA-PCC). According to Rasco jr, agriculture is the slowest developing sector, thus learning about the six new scientists dedicated to the field have sparked his hope for the country.

The oath-taking was administered by the Honorable Alicia dela Rosa-Bala, Chairperson of SCS and the Civil Service Commission (CSC) assisted by Undersecretary Dr. Carol M. Yorobe, representing the Secretary of the Department of Science and Technology. After which the event was officially closed by NAST Director Luningning Samarita Domingo who shared her aspirations of gaining more scientists. As quoted from her closing remarks, the SCC is exerting all efforts of orienting key institutions such as the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) who have expressed their interest of taking part of the SCS.