The Science Career System (SCS) will hold the Oath Taking of the Newly Conferred and Upgraded Career Scientists on September 22, 2021 via Zoom and Facebook live. The Virtual Oath Taking is hosted by the Scientific Career System (SCS) and National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines (NAST PHL).
The Civil Service Commission (CSC) and the Department of Science and Technology (DOST), through the SCS under its recognition program, conferred the Scientist rank to seven (7) new researchers and upgraded the rank of five (5) scientist. They are as follows:
Department of Science and Technology
  • Dr. Custer C. Deocaris, Scientist I
  • Dr. Jessie O. Samaniego, Scientist I
  • Dr. Vallerie Ann I. Samson, Scientist I
  • Dr. Marcelino Q. Villafuerte, Scientist I
Department of Agriculture
  • Dr. Gigi B. Calica, Scientist I
  • Dr. Lerma C. Ocampo, Scientist I
  • Dr. Edwin C. Atabay, Scientist II
  • Dr. Eufrocina P. Atabay, Scientist II
  • Dr. Roel R. Suralta, Scientist III
  • Dr. Dionisio G. Alvindia, Scientist IV
  • Dr. Claro N. Mingala, Scientist IV
Conferred Scientists are ranked to receive the corresponding salary grade as follows: Scientist I - SG 26; Scientist II - SG 27; Scientist III - SG 28; Scientist IV - SG 29; and Scientist V - SG 30. Conferred Career Scientists are also entitled to receive the following support grants: Representation and Travel Allowance; Magna Carta Benefits; Membership in International Scientific Organization and/or subscription to Scientific Journals; Publication Assistance; and Foreign Travel Assistance for oral paper presentation of 3,000USD per Scientist every two years.
With this development, the roster of scientists conferred under the System brings the total number of 183 since the System was institutionalized in 1983 by then President Ferdinand E. Marcos.
The SCS is a system of recruitment, career progression, recognition, and reward of scientists in the public service as means of developing a pool of highly qualified and productive scientific personnel. The system is co-implemented by the Civil Service Commission (CSC) and the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) with the CSC Chairman and DOST Secretary serving as Co-chairs of the Scientific Career Council. The SCS program is now administered by the NAST PHL.